You are here

New Members of Office for Scholarly Communication Advisory Committee

July 23, 2013—The Office for Scholarly Communication (OSC) added 17 new members to its Advisory Committee, which continues to include members from every school at Harvard and Central Administration. The new members join 15 existing members, many of whom have served on the Advisory Committee since the OSC's founding in 2008. Expanded membership will provide the OSC with deeper roots into each school, ensuring that open access policies and outreach efforts are successfully implemented and supported, and that policies are developed with input from the broadest constituency. 

In addition to maintaining and supporting Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH), Harvard's open access repository of scholarly work, the OSC supports open access policies at eight of Harvard’s nine schools, promotes open access through internal and external outreach and encourages innovation in libraries through Library Lab, which receives generous support from the Arcadia Fund.  

The Advisory Committee now includes the following members:

Teresa Amabile, Edsel Bryant Ford Professor of Business Administration (HBS)

Alan Aspuru-Guzik, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology (FAS)

Yochai Benkler, Jack N. and Lillian R. Berkman Professor for Entrepreneurial Legal Studies (HLS)

Ann Blair, Henry Charles Lea Professor of History; Harvard College Professor (FAS)

Peter Bol, Charles H. Carswell Professor of East Asian Languages and Civilizations (FAS)

Amy Brand, Assistant Provost for Faculty Appointments

David Cox, Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and of Computer Science (FAS)

Robert Darnton, Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor and Director of the University Library

Christopher Dede, Timothy E. Wirth Professor in Learning Technologies (GSE)

John Deighton, Harold M. Brierley Professor of Business Administration (HBS)

James Engell, Gurney Professor of English Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature (FAS)

Kurt Fischer, Charles Bigelow Professor of Education (GSE)

Michael Fisher, Assistant Director for University Relations and Editorial Director, Harvard University Press

Terry Fisher, Hale and Dorr Professor of Intellectual Property Law and Faculty Director, Berkman Center for Internet and Society (HLS)

Drew Fudenberg, Frederic E. Abbe Professor of Economics (FAS)

Alyssa Goodman, Professor of Astronomy (FAS)

Charles Hallisey, Yehan Numata Senior Lecturer in Buddhist Literatures (HDS)

Dan Hazen, Associate Librarian of Harvard College for Collection Development

Winston Hide, Associate Professor of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology; Scientific Director of the Bioinformatics Core (HSPH)

David Keith, Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Public Policy (FAS)

Gary King, David Florence Professor of Government (FAS)

Isaac Kohane, Lawrence J. Henderson Professor of Pediatrics, Associate Professor of Medicine and Director, Countway Library of Medicine (HMS)

Sue Kriegsman, Program Manager for the Office for Scholarly Communication

David Lamberth, Professor of Philosophy and Theology (HDS)

Marc Lipsitch, Professor of Epidemiology (HSPH)

Gregory Nagy, Francis Jones Professor of Classical Greek Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature (FAS)

Jeffrey Schnapp, Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures; Affiliated Professor to the Department of Architecture (FAS, GSD)

Helen Shenton, Executive Director for the Harvard Library

Stuart Shieber,  James O. Welch, Jr. and Virginia B. Welch Professor of Computer Science and Faculty Director, Office for Scholarly Communication (FAS)

Peter Suber, Director, Office for Scholarly Communication; Director, Harvard Open Access Project

Richard Thomas, George Martin Lane Professor of the Classics; Harvard College Professor (FAS)

Jonathan Zittrain, Professor of Law at Harvard Law School and the Harvard Kennedy School of Government and Professor of Computer Science at the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (HLS, HKS, FAS)