You are here

Project Update: The Next-Generation Digital Repository Service

October 8, 2013—A project to launch the next-generation Digital Repository Service (DRS) recently achieved several milestones, with more to come during the 2013 academic year.

Since 2000, the DRS, Harvard Library’s large-scale preservation and access repository, has made a growing body of digital resources (including photographs, one-of-a-kind archival documents, rare books and serials, audio files, musical scores, architectural plans, drawings, illuminated manuscripts, archaeological objects and Websites) available for both current and future researchers. It provides secure, backed-up, monitored storage and preservation services, providing peace of mind to collection managers for more than 45 million files using 154 terabytes. 

The DRS 2 Project, initiated in fall 2008, focused on enhancing access to digital content, increasing collection management features, upgrading the technical infrastructure, aligning with digital preservation standards and best practices and improving support for audio collections.

To date, the project’s major milestones include:

  • training users, phase I (spring/summer 2013)
  • designing and implementing new hardware (summer 2013)
  • migrating content to the new hardware (summer 2013)
  • convening the DRS Advisory Group (summer 2013)
  • migrating software (completed October 2013)

To enable users to move to the new DRS, upcoming project milestones include:

  • creating new tools for metadata migration
  • migrating metadata
  • facilitating the move of users, including training users, phase II

The DRS Advisory Group will provide regular progress reports as the project continues in emails and in the Library Update.

The DRS Advisory Group provides oversight and guidance during the rollout phase of the DRS2 project and ensures that the user community of active DRS depositors and content owners contributes to decisions about the rollout. Its members are:

Amy Benson
Kate Bowers
Bill Comstock
Franziska Frey (chair)
Andrea Goethals
Tracey Robinson
Randy Stern