WPR Creative Fellowship

About The Fellowship

Woodberry Poetry Room grant recipients Erin Moure and Dan Beachy-Quick.
Erin Moure & Dan Beachy-Quick

Each year, the Woodberry Poetry Room Creative Fellowship invites poets, writers, multimedia artists, and scholars of contemporary poetry to propose creative projects that would benefit from the resources available in the room and to generate new work that further actualizes the Poetry Room's collections — particularly the audio-video archive. 

The Creative Fellow receives a stipend of $4,000 and a Harvard Library special borrower’s card, as well as in-depth research support from the curatorial staff. During certain years, additional WPR Creative Grants have been made available, with a stipend of $1,500.

The next deadline for application is Jan. 14, 2019. 

Woodberry Poetry Room Creative Fellowships and Grants are generously funded by the Dr. Michael & Teresa Anagnostopoulos Fund.


Eileen Myles works in the Poetry Room.
Recipient Eileen Myles

The next deadline for application is Jan. 14, 2019. Click here to apply.

Applicants will be asked to provide a brief project description, an up-to-date currriculum vitae, and one letter of reference. Recipients will be notified by April 1, 2019.

For additional information, please contact the curator.

Past Recipients


  • WPR Creative Fellowship: Tracie Morris, “The Impossible Man” (a performance project based on the work of the 19th century Shakespearean actor Ira Aldridge

  • WPR Creative Grant: Tess Taylor, “Roads Not Taken: Pilgrimages with Poets & Poems”
Woodberry Poetry Room grant recipient Christine Finn works in the room.
WPR Creative Grant recipient Christine Finn.